What is Tennessee SR22 insurance?
An SR22 is not really an insurance policy. An SR22 is a form that your insurance provider will file with the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles that states that you have acquired an auto insurance policy with the insurer that at minimum meets the state of Tennessee’s minimum auto insurance coverage limits.
What are Tennessee’s minimum SR22 insurance coverage limits?
Tennessee’s minimum SR22 coverage is as follows:
• Bodily injury/death of one person $25,000
• Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $50,000
• Property damage $10,000
When you speak with an insurance provider or on the insurance policy these limits will be noted as such: 25/50/10
These limits are only the state’s minimum liability requirements. It is not recommended that you follow these limits. For example the $10,000 in property damage coverage is for covering the other vehicle or any other property damaged as the result of an accident.
If you get into an accident and you are responsible and the other vehicle is a $70,000 Mercedes, a policy that meets the state minimum for property damage does not cover the entire replacement cost of the vehicle.
How long is the SR22 filing requirement in Tennessee?
Depending on the reason for you needing to maintain an SR22 filing with the Tennessee DMV, you will be required to maintain your filing anywhere from 1-year to 3-years. If at any time during the required filing period if there is a lapse in your Tennessee SR22 insurance coverage your insurance provider is obligated by law to inform the Tennessee DMV of your lapse in coverage.
If this happens the DMV is going to send you a “Notice of Cancellation” letter telling you that your Tennessee driver’s license has been cancelled and in order to reinstate your driver’s license you will need to bring your insurance policy current and have your insurance provider file another SR22 form with the DMV. You will also be required to pay an additional driver’s license reinstatement fee to the DMV.
Who needs an SR22 filing in Tennessee?
An SR22 filing maybe required for the following convictions:
• Too many tickets
• Uninsured motor vehicle suspension
• Failure to provide proof of insurance
• Unsatisfied judgments
• Reckless driving
• Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
• Falsifying insurance documentation
Can I get a restricted driver’s license in Tennessee?
Depending on the reason for your driver’s license getting suspended you may be eligible to request a restricted driver’s license from the DMV. For more information regarding a restricted license please visit the restricted driver license information page on the Tennessee DMV’s website.
How much is SR22 insurance in Tennessee?
You should expect your auto insurance premiums to increase between 3 to 5 times what you would pay for a regular auto insurance policy. For example if your auto insurance cost you $50 per month before your being required to file an SR22 with the DMV you can expect them to be anywhere from $150 to $250 per month for an SR22 insurance policy.
You can keep your SR22 costs as low as possible by getting multiple Tennessee SR22 insurance quotes through our competitive network. Get an SR22 insurance quote now!